Guitar Forums

Go Back   Guitar Forums > The Gear > Technical Info

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2017, 04:57 PM   #1
Kenni
Junior Member
 
Kenni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 4
Kenni Just getting started
Default Gluing Frets - What do you use?

Hi everyone & happy holidays

This christmas holiday I'm going to refret an old Squier Telecaster of mine, and I was wondering what type of glue you guys use when refretting, if any...

I've matched the fret wire as best as I can, and everything should be fine there.
I'm going to radius the fret wire, using my fret bender, and give it a slight tigher radius.

Also, do you fill the slots with glue or just glue the fret ends, while the neck is clamped?
I've seen people do both

Thanks & Cheers!
Kenni.
Kenni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2017, 06:27 PM   #2
Hi Hat
Senior Member
 
Hi Hat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: By the snare drum
Posts: 2,481
Hi Hat The Oven's On But Nothing's Cooking Hi Hat The Oven's On But Nothing's Cooking
Default

I refret my Squier Affinity Stratocaster and I don't remember needing any glue. I carefully and slowly pried up the frets using a knife blade. The slots remained intact.
Hi Hat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2017, 08:12 PM   #3
Kenni
Junior Member
 
Kenni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 4
Kenni Just getting started
Default

Hi!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hi Hat View Post
I refret my Squier Affinity Stratocaster and I don't remember needing any glue.
So you didn't use any glue after pressing the new frets in? They simply seated without a problem?

[/QUOTE]I carefully and slowly pried up the frets using a knife blade. The slots remained intact.[/QUOTE]

I have already removed the old frets, and had no problem doing that, but I was asking about using glue to make sure the frets would seat properly, when refretting.

Cheers.
Kenni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2017, 08:26 PM   #4
Hi Hat
Senior Member
 
Hi Hat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: By the snare drum
Posts: 2,481
Hi Hat The Oven's On But Nothing's Cooking Hi Hat The Oven's On But Nothing's Cooking
Default

Some people use crazy glue (cyanoacrylate glue.).

I found frets.com to be a useful resource.

http://frets.com/FretsPages/pagelist.html
Hi Hat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 04:44 AM   #5
PKVeazey
Old Timer
 
PKVeazey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: South Central Virginia
Posts: 750
PKVeazey Just getting started
Default

Glue or no glue is a matter of how you want to install the frets. The issue I see, is if you try to arch the frets to change the radius, it isn't going to work. The first problem you're going to have is trying to evenly press or hammer the frets into place. The second issue you are going to have, is if you actually do install the frets at a different radius from the fret board, those gaps under the frets are going to drive you nuts. If you insist on changing the radius, do it by changing the fret board radius and then just insert the frets flush with the fret board.
__________________
Always B natural, Sometimes B sharp, Never B flat.
PKVeazey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 06:41 PM   #6
Kenni
Junior Member
 
Kenni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 4
Kenni Just getting started
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PKVeazey View Post
Glue or no glue is a matter of how you want to install the frets. The issue I see, is if you try to arch the frets to change the radius, it isn't going to work. The first problem you're going to have is trying to evenly press or hammer the frets into place. The second issue you are going to have, is if you actually do install the frets at a different radius from the fret board, those gaps under the frets are going to drive you nuts. If you insist on changing the radius, do it by changing the fret board radius and then just insert the frets flush with the fret board.
Hi

I'm not trying to change the radius of anything? I'm just going to bend the fret wire to match the fretboard radius, as you normally would?

I certainly do not hope that people try to use the frets to change the radius of the fretboard, since that would really be impossible, and cause problems, as you describe yourself! The fretboard is 9.5 and the fret wire will be bent to 9.5, maybe a little tigher

Cheers!
Kenni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 08:07 PM   #7
Tony Done
Senior Member
 
Tony Done's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,481
Tony Done The Oven's On But Nothing's Cooking Tony Done The Oven's On But Nothing's Cooking
Default

I've only done a refret once, and I put a little bit more radius on the frets than the fretboard radius to ensure that the fret ends were firmly pressed down. I used CA (also used by my repairer mate) on some of them that I though didn't look so firm
Tony Done is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 08:32 PM   #8
Kenni
Junior Member
 
Kenni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 4
Kenni Just getting started
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Done View Post
I've only done a refret once, and I put a little bit more radius on the frets than the fretboard radius to ensure that the fret ends were firmly pressed down. I used CA (also used by my repairer mate) on some of them that I though didn't look so firm
Thanks for your reply, Tony!

Exactly, I've heard of the same thing!
Guess I'll go for something like that!

Happy holiday & Cheers!
Kenni is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Guitar Competition | Piano Lessons