Guitar Forums

Go Back   Guitar Forums > General > Tales from the road

Old 10-16-2017, 09:40 AM   #1
Guitarguymoseng

Guitarguymoseng Just getting started
Default New as "band leader"

Hey guys,

So, finally(!), the Breaking The Barrier project is happening! A band project I've been planning for God knows how long... The thing is, though. How to have the rest of the band members "get" what you're aiming for?

I've got plenty of experience as a teacher of music, but I've never been leading a serious band project, with the goal of gigs, maybe even record production.

Anyone got any good tips? Anything is appreciated.

Br,
Mr. Moseng
Guitarguymoseng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 11:30 AM   #2
Hi Hat

Hi Hat The Oven's On But Nothing's Cooking Hi Hat The Oven's On But Nothing's Cooking

Well, basically if anything goes wrong I have to fix it. I have to learn all the songs and teach them to everybody, and they proceed to screw it up and forget everything. And there is the usual "What key is it out of?" question before each song, even if we've been playing the song for years.

I just shut up and put up with it. We play gigs and keep getting work and that's what is important.

Oh and venue managers consider bands totally unimportant. They cancel gigs at any time without notice, change the deal, change anything and expect us to agree to it. And we do because we like working.
Hi Hat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 03:10 PM   #3
crank

crank Just getting started

Communication is key.

It helps to have a group of dedicated players who will do their homework and come to practice on time and prepared.

When I was in my 20's and in an original band we had regularly scheduled practices 2 nights per week. 3 would have been better. I have been in bands where people showed up late, unprepared, or not at all. In my experience if you have players like that it is best to replace them with ones who can at least show up.