Guitar Forums

Go Back   Guitar Forums > Skills > Technique, Style, & Genre

Old 01-17-2018, 08:28 AM   #1
HarryJS

HarryJS Just getting started
Default Any lefties here that play right-handed?

I've been pondering this lately. I've been playing for a few months now and have been enjoying myself. I'm left-handed, but I play right-handed. I've heard so many opinions on this subject from "just play right-handed" to "you'll never be good if you play right-handed!" Playing right-handed feels right to me, although playing left handed doesn't feel terrible. Playing right-handed may be due to years of violin playing where left-handedness is seriously frowned upon.

I'm sort of cross handed in that I use different hands for different tasks. I could never shoot a shotgun left-handed, for example. I can however write pretty well with my right hand although I prefer to use my left hand, and I bowl right handed mostly.

thoughts?
HarryJS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 09:01 AM   #2
Seattle

Seattle Just getting started Seattle Just getting started

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryJS View Post
I've been pondering this lately. I've been playing for a few months now and have been enjoying myself. I'm left-handed, but I play right-handed. I've heard so many opinions on this subject from "just play right-handed" to "you'll never be good if you play right-handed!" Playing right-handed feels right to me, although playing left handed doesn't feel terrible. Playing right-handed may be due to years of violin playing where left-handedness is seriously frowned upon.

I'm sort of cross handed in that I use different hands for different tasks. I could never shoot a shotgun left-handed, for example. I can however write pretty well with my right hand although I prefer to use my left hand, and I bowl right handed mostly.

thoughts?
One the one hand, I think that you should use your left hand, but on the other hand, maybe you should use your right.