Guitar Forums

Go Back   Guitar Forums > Skills > Technique, Style, & Genre

Old 02-01-2018, 04:38 PM   #1
mountainecho

mountainecho Just getting started
Default Percussive/fingerstyle acoustic - where to start?

A bit of background - I've been playing piano for over 10 years. I'm fine with music theory and all that side of things. I'd like to start playing the percussive style of acoustic guitar. Sungha Jung's style is a very obvious example, and I also really like the arrangements of a less known guitarist, osamuraisan (can't post URLs but his stuff is on YouTube)

The difficulty I have with the style of guitar I'd like to play is that tabs are so intuitive. Unlike piano music where's it just - press this note for this long, many of guitar tabs don't tell you where to strum or hit or pick, it's almost as though you should be able to tell from the song itself. Being a beginner I haven't picked up enough experience to be able to do that.

I'm a bit lost on where to start. Just playing pieces that I like the sound of is very difficult as I don't know what techniques to use. Would you recommend starting with books and exercises instead? That way I'll start being able to tell how the tabs should be played. If so, what's worth checking out? What sort of things should I practise?
mountainecho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 02:01 AM   #2
PKVeazey
Old Timer

PKVeazey Just getting started